top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

23, 5, & 1 Combo

Hello Hatters,


You might ask what these numbers, 23, 5, and 1, have in common.  Well, over the holidays, I counted my special connections and came up with these numbers.  Let me explain.  I had the opportunities to enjoy people from 23 families by attending parties and family gatherings.  I traveled for a mini vacation to the coast (of course!), and then visited more out of town family.  I hosted three events at my home.  Glorious!  We made so many wonderful memories of cooking and baking.  We had delicious foods, homemade cookies, and other fine desserts.  Games and crafts were shared. I witnessed and received the generous giving of presents.  The best gift I received was one of the presence of my family and friends.  Yes!  Presence, from the Old French word present "evident, at hand, within reach.”  I embrace that noun more these days.


In fact, if I were to define a New Year’s resolution for myself, it’s to be “present”.  Being …. being alert and attentive is a present to all in attendance.  Oh, how I love words!  I sink into them like plopping down into plush grass.  In my faith walk, I am gifted with the presence of the Holy Spirit, my greatest blessing.  While I may experience human loneliness, my spirit knows no distance from my great big God. There’s no limit to the seconds, minutes, and hours for which I can pause in gratitude for my Immanuel (God With Us).


So back to my holiday review, while I had lots of human contact, my rescue dog had four canine visitors at different times.  It’s astonishing how much sniffing it takes for dogs to get re-acquainted.  My little doggie had lots of playtime.  So all counted, my dog and four visitors equals 5 dogs during the festivities.  My pet’s playtime was renewed with a new squeaky Lamb Chop plush toy.  It’s her new favorite.  Batty, her old pal, has been left abandoned.  I wonder if I could put a squeaker into Batty?  I digress.  Squirrel!  I’ve heard that dogs like routines, but I have I’ve found her to be a good little traveler.  As long as I take her blanket, we are good to go.  Yay!


One last surprising sight happened one morning about 9:30 as the early clouds gave way to the morning sun.  As I was visiting some family, I went into their backyard to watch my dog.  I looked up into a neighbor’s yard and saw this huge nest in a leafless tree.  It looked so curious.  My attention diverted to other details until I looked at the nest a few minutes later.  I saw a face.  That wasn’t a nest, it was a raccoon!  I must admit, I’ve never had a conversation with a raccoon before, but I asked rhetorically why it was out in the middle of the morning (aren’t raccoons nocturnal?)  Seeing as how I don’t speak raccoon, I didn’t get a response.  Then I remembered the barking dog that disturbed my sleep the night prior.  Maybe there was a standoff between the barking dog and the ‘nesty-looking’ raccoon.  My imagination takes me in all kinds of directions.  Anyway, I moved in for a better view so I could snap some pictures.  Score!


So 23 families, 5 dogs, and 1 raccoon; a funny combo, but a delightful holiday season.  As a writer who wears many hats just like you, the mingling of people, pets, and unusual sights enriches the days.  Sometimes I get distracted, but I hope to be more present in the rhythm of this path called life.  I love living curiously to find the extraordinary!  What combination do you want to take into the new year?


MT Penny

28 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Outside

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page