top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Hope

Hello Hatters,

I'd like to explore another value that I deem as absolutely necessary. What I mean is I hope you will join me as we look at an attribute that is sorely needed in these desperate times. First, I'd like to be one of the many voices that say the absence of hope is the worst of feelings. For if we do not have something for which to look forward, what is the point of it all?


Can we look forward to a future of trust and a future of equality? A quest of this kind of future may not be realized this side of heaven, but giving up is just not an option. It is the journey that we take with the people we trust; we must continue to build a better tomorrow. What that looks like for each person is different because of our unique minds, souls and bodies. We are each gifted with talents to use just like a steward takes care of the things in his or her care. One of many things that hope inspires is relationships full of the richness of dignity and respect.


An American screen writer Travis Beacham says that, "Hope is not the absence of tragedy, my friend. It is the conviction that tragedy can be endured. Hope is the spark in you that is not subdued in the face of vast and callous indifference in the universe. Hope is that which is not shattered by hardship." I heartily agree that life is not fair and it is cruel even, but we cannot give in to despair.


Martin Luther King, Jr. wrote, "We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope." Do you see the difference? There's this life that is to be lived at its fullest to serve and love and care and when grief hits, we get up and start all over again. Then there's the eternal focus of the infinite. In my faith, it is the greatest encouragement for me to know that this life is not the end of the story. It gives me the energy and drive to look up, keep working and make a difference.


Oftentimes, I lose my focus and get wrapped up in the finite. Don't you? I'm very glad for family and friends who can get my train back on its track and move forward. The most successful people are the ones who exhibit grit and tenacity. Do you think that resiliency comes without hope? Certainly not. Hope inspires a "never give up" attitude. Hope is essential. I've heard that word so much lately... essential. Guess what? We're all essential! We're all needed and we all need hope.



I'm a writer who wears many hats just like you, and today I share my core value of hope. A tangible example of my view is that my Country Hubby and I recently accessed the state of our US flag. It was tattered, torn and faded. We purchased a new one and hung it up today. It just inspired me even more to share my feelings of hope. Each of us can embrace a newness of life and a freshness of the mission in front of us. Our old flag will not be discarded but held in high esteem as a reminder that some things are finite but some things, like hope, are essential.


My last comment is that when my last breath is gone and words are spoken over me, may everyone realize that my HOPE has been fulfilled. When I have left the finite, please note that I will be fully new and fulfilled in the eternal. I hope you have that faith.


Hugzzzzzzzzzzzzzz,

MT

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Outside

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page