top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

A Nice Touch

Hello Hatters,

Pardon me while I tell on myself. I have lots of sayings in my life. My little quirky ways that make me different than other people are often phrased in phrases for which I repeat. A LOT!

I’m known for saying. “I don’t cook, but I can.” Honestly. I just don’t fiddle around in the kitchen much and when I do, it’s out of necessity, not joy. I can’t eat out every day. My family members really enjoy cooking and baking. I benefit from their talents. A LOT! I’m grateful. Also, related to food, one of my daughters will call in the evening and it’s common for me to ask, “What’s for supper, Alice?” She knows what I mean and her name is not Alice. It’s a throwback from the old Brady Bunch show. I can be pretty predictable.


When my grammybabies and I get together, we have a special greeting. We get in a circle, hold hands, and I say, “Are you ready to say it?” The answer comes, “Yes!” We burst out with it in unison, “It makes my heart happy to see you!” Then I get the best hugs ever. I asked them if I can still call them grammybabies when they’re adults. You know kids, they are anxious to grow up. I told them that it wouldn’t sound right if I call them my grammygrownups or grammyadults. They humor me and say I can call them grammybabies forever. I love it. A LOT.


In my Bible study, I’ll get drawn to a specific word. It reaches out and grabs me. It may be a common word, but I’m compelled to look it up. I want a deeper connection to that word and I usually find some tidbit of a treasure to share with my ladies group that meets on Sunday nights. I frequently say, “Well, you know I just love words and I had to look it up!” Then I’ll give an account of my research on a single word that caught my attention. I do that. A LOT.


I suppose my favorite saying is, “That’ll be a nice touch!” It was birthed when I was doing wedding preparations for my family members about twelve years ago. I would see a little thing that I could add to the ceremony or to the reception. It could be just a little added spark or elegance. It might have been the slightest addition to a decoration and may have gone unnoticed by others, but I knew it was there. Since those occasions, it has become a part of who I am. I like to think that I can add a little flare or make a difference in something that I’m involved in and I think to myself. “That’ll be a nice little touch!” Now, I notice it in other things. A LOT. Recently, I noticed an animated butterfly in the online newsletter at my work. I let the editor know that I liked it very much and she said it made her day that I noticed.


With so much chaos in the world, we all need to be aware. Let us be conscious: be the kindness, be the smile, be the the beauty in the common courtesies. I am a writer who wears many hats just like you. Yet, I caution myself to slow down long enough to take captive the moments that keep me engaged in this crazy and unpredictable life. I want to shine a light on the uncommon traits like bravery and courage that take center stage in a scary world of bullies. Many little decisions turn into big actions.


My personal collection of phrases matters very little in a world stage. I know this blog has shifted and ended with a serious note. My conclusion may not be “a nice little touch”, but it matters. A LOT.


MT Penny

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page