top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Anniversary of Nexts


Hello Hatters,


Country Hubby and I are having an anniversary. The seasons we’ve experienced are much like spring, summer, autumn and winter. Our romance was as quick to bloom as spring flowers. Our child raising years were as sweet as summer days at the park.

Our lives unraveled in the autumn years ago when hubby was hurt in an accident. Many surgeries, therapies, and appointments filled our lives. Many leaves fell as my hubby’s life was changed forever. I lived many days in fear.


The years that followed hubby’s crisis were much like the hibernation of a bear in winter. Just thinking of those times is one big blur. We missed life: we yearned for his vitality: I missed his decision making.

Yet spring always comes and we snapped into a “new for us“ normal and did what we could. Summers again felt happy and adjustments were made in the autumns and winters. Hardship insists in a search for silver linings. To ignore this evaluation process is to miss the lessons and the blessings.

The incredible endurance I have witnessed in my husband, inspires a loving respect and admiration. His determination has modeled a lifestyle for our children. Never give up. Push yourself. Live and give well.


On our anniversary this year, there are no cards, no parties, no exchange of gifts. Our journey in marriage is celebrated in each moment of give and take, better or worse, rich or poor. Now we look forward to what is next. I’m a writer who wears many hats and today, I’m a bride of many years. I am curious for today and the seasons to come.


If you’re in a different place than me and we could share a moment of reflection, I’d offer up a bold challenge to learn from each season. Look for what is here and hope for what is next. Fight the creep of fear. It doesn’t deserve a season. It never did.


Hugzzzzzzzzzzz,

MT




43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Outside

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page