top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Car Wash

Hello Hatters,


Being that today is bittersweet due to a wedding anniversary without my Country Hubby, I did the next best thing I could think of which was look at pictures. Our simple wedding, reception, getaway, and sunny honeymoon photos tell the tale of two very different people combining their lives into a rich relationship of desire. We just wanted to be together. I was raised in the city and Country Hubby, well, of course, was born and raised in a farming community of maybe 150 people. I’m kidding; I seriously don’t even know how big the population was of his hometown, but it was itty-bitty compared to my background. Guess what? It didn’t matter.


Everything we did outside of our jobs, we did together. Oh wait! We even met at our jobs. So there you have it. It’s proof that where I was, there was Country Hubby. Wherever Country Hubby was, I was there. I learned to join him in what he loved and vice versa. When you’re that connected, it’s shocking in every way to be apart. Now, I am forgetful and distracted. I’m in the warmth of the past yet fretful of tomorrow. So I’m pretty messed up in my todays. Time is a blur. Daylight savings time didn’t even phase me.


I took today off from work and went about doing some errands. Then, I decided to go through the car wash. I had on some Christian music as I watched the washing and rinsing process. I literally felt a personal washing and a remembrance of God’s promises of refreshing as we turn to Him in all things. The sadness that had held me down most of the day lifted off of me. I smiled and turned the radio louder. I literally sang at the top of my lungs. Then KLOVE radio announced that Zach Williams and Dolly Parton won Best Contemporary Christian Music Performance/Song at the Grammy Awards yesterday. Their song was, “There was Jesus.”

I say, “Jesus is here in the Car Wash!” Believe me, I needed His touch today. I am blessed though broken. I am smiling through tears. I am loved at all times and in all states of mind. Whether I’m confused or focused, I am chosen. If I’m distracted or on task, I am treasured. My God loves me regardless of my emotions. I am a writer who wears many hats just like you and we all need special reminders of His Care and His Presence. Today, in my sorrow, I was showered with gifts. The best of which, a reminder that I’m never alone.


Hugzzzzzzzzz,

MT Penny








58 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page