top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Fill the Gap



Hello Hatters,

This morning I discovered little sparrows were getting into a previously repaired spot on my house. After making sure that the little ones were out, my family and I tackled the area. We used small boards and expanding foam to fill the gaps.


There are many spaces that need to be tended around my house. Not big things, but still the house could use some TLC. Come to think of it, there’s a heart here in the home with a great big gap. Some days the wide open places of grief leave me drained and longing for my man to lift my chin. That’s today.

No one escapes the pain of loss. There’s so much human misery in the world that it’s hard to comprehend. The media is full of difficult news. Many are caring for aging parents or others with serious illnesses or conditions. A friend of mine just lost her mom to cancer. A child precedes the parents in passing. On and on it goes. Understanding is not required. I cling to my faith walk with weakness made strong only by the keeper of time, my God.

Another friend is caring for a neighborhood cat in the last days of its life. The little cat has been a free spirit that would visit my friend’s house at times of morning coffee or of watering plants. Now she stays with the soul that tenderly cares for each breath and movement. Sweetness of last moments will give way to an empty blanket. Another gap…


As a writer who wears many hats just like you, our feelings are illustrators, not the final authority. While I do feel better when I write, I attempt to come away from the pen and paper with a different point of view. Also, my music leans me to a different focus. Thankfully, I am reminded of the hope that carries me.

I can’t fill the quiet around here, but I’m not alone. Maybe you can relate to the complications of life that feel like a roller coaster. Filling the gaps in a heart is not as easy as using boards and expanding foam, but it is possible to keep moving. The condition of the heart is adjusting. It is a muscle; will it pulse with purpose?

Can it fill other gaps?


May it be so.


MT Penny

39 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page