top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Freedoms

Hello Hatters,

It’s been a month since my last post. So many changes to the daily landscape of our lives, will not easily be forgotten. Hardships have increased for everyone. Paychecks are missing for many and families are separated for health and safety reasons. The reality of serious illnesses and fatalities are constantly on our minds.

In my family, we experienced the unexpected death of my dad who died in a hospital without family present. Not a Covid-19 related death, but certainly the circumstances of his isolation were a direct result of the restrictions. No one was allowed to enter the hospital. Even for his services, only 10 people were allowed into the chapel. Such a sad state of events.

I don’t really have a hat for this post but rather a patriotic bandana that I am using for any public settings. The thoughts I have for freedom relate to the choice to value others‘ safety and stay the course of actions currently required by our governmental authorities. Whether or not our civil liberties are being violated is an argument for someone else. I’ve been a rule follower for most of my life.

As far as my dad and his departure from our lives so suddenly, that path has granted him freedom from pain, worry, loneliness and a broken heart. He never recovered from the death of mom barely over a year ago. He has received the ultimate deliverance from this world’s difficulties.

Freedom is often related to our military and first responders who bravely battle in their own way for all of us. We have new warriors to thank and they include our medical staff in all areas. Our future freedoms are in their hands as they search and discover best practices and treatments.

On a simpler note, I’m looking forward to liberation including a dinner or a movie. Breakfast and a casual coffee at our favorite Saturday restaurant will be a treat. My arms long to hold my kids and the grammybabies. Will I ever catch up on all the hugs and kisses?


For now, I am free to spend my non-working hours in responsible ways or to connect with others over the phone or Zoom. It is easier to persevere knowing that this season shall pass. Prayers and patience are needed. Creativity is a great outlet for some.

I‘ve been reluctant to reach out because of all the news, the suffering, and the unfortunate politics. Who needs another email or post to read? On the off chance that you can see an appreciation of freedoms now, in spite of our limitations and restrictions, I hope this blog has brought freedom into a new light. I know we are in a state of lockdown but an optimist can view the alternatives.


I write as one who wears many hats, just like you. Let’s stand together in freedom’s light and hope.

Hugzzzzzzzz,

MT


45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Outside

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page