top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Friendship

Hello Hatters,


I am so blessed with many kinds of friends. Examples include family members who are friends, work friends, church friends, neighborhood friends and of course, my Country Hubby. Over the years, he’s learned that listening without trying to fix, is a gift of friendship to me. He’s a caring listener.

On the other hand, I’ve had projects go wrong and a fix was exactly what was needed. Country Hubby would come to the rescue. I’ll never forget the time when I decided to move my piano from one room to another room. He was away at work. I never figured the issue with an inconvenient corner that stopped my plan. He came home to a piano wedged in a doorway with me on one side and my daughters on the other side. Boy, did I have some explaining to do. I can laugh now but my idea was ambitious and foolish; his know how and strength got the task done.



He’s also been the one who has mended many things for me. Just a day or so ago, my back door handle broke. Even in his weakness, he managed a workable solution. I know his future destination will not require solutions to stuck pianos or broken handles. I can’t imagine the peace and joy that will soon be his experience. I also know that my future here will still have broken handles and my crazy ideas that go haywire. I may not try to move a piano, but I’m just too much of a change agent to leave things alone.


Alone.... that’s a hard word. I know that in a sense, it’s coming... I also know that my list of friends above will be here for me and me for them. And in my faith walk, the most comforting attribute of my God is His Presence. In fact, I’m never alone. He promises that I was never, am never, and will never, be alone. So, I’m a writer who wears many hats, just like you. Time is precious, friendships vary, and my heart is in a state of flux. But it’s not just my reality; many people in our world are overwhelmed right now. Like never before, we need to walk together in friendship. Sometimes we’re meant to listen and sometimes we’re supposed to act. Which one will we do today?


Hugzzzzzzzz,

MT Penny


59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Outside

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page