top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

In The Midst…

Hello Hatters,


If you’ve been reading my blog post within the last year, you know that I had a xeriscape front yard created.  It is a lot of work to keep the weeds down and the leaves blown off.  It is very pretty when the work is done.  Let me rephrase… The work is never done because weeds still grow and the wind blows the leaves off the trees.  However, there’s beauty and lessons in each stage of the care.  It also has the potential to stay pretty during the relentlessly hot Texas summer months.


Most of the front yard is covered with granite rock, but I have a special corner covered with different kinds of stone and a miniature lighthouse (God is my Light!) right in the middle.  It was a family effort to design the pattern.  I’m on a very busy corner and people often stop and tell me how much they enjoy my yard. It’s always fun to hear those kinds of remarks.


We’ve had quite a bit of rain in the last few days, and the wetness makes the granite twinkle. While I know the rain will kick up more weeds, I’m learning to enjoy my yard at each stage.  Besides, we need the rain.


Unfortunately, rain, especially storms affect my little rescue dog. She is terrified at thunder and lightning, so a few nights ago, I got a frantic visitor in my bed. She trembled and panted with each crash of thunder and flash of lightning.  She was inconsolable.  It was a difficult night.  I’ve only had her for three months, so we are still figuring things out.


The only information I got from the pet rescue center was that she was a stray, so she lived outside for some period of time and sheltered from storms wherever she could.


Storms come in many forms, not just with dogs. We all weather different kinds of difficulties.  As a writer who wears many hats just like you, I am regrettably reminded of how many times I’ve been focused on the storm, instead of looking up to my God who holds my peace and my path. This writer needs reminding to embrace and trust Him.   Storms pass, seasons change, but the love bestowed on me from a Great Big God is unchanging and never ending.


Just like my little rescue dog came to me for comfort in the storm, I need to know where to look for mine.  My encouragement for all of us today is to look UP in the midst of whatever is happening. Don’t lose hope.  Trust the Creator and His plan for your life.


Live, eyes lifted, in the midst…


MT Penny

35 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page