top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

It's Fall Pick Up-Take out that trash

Dear Hatters,

All over the city, there are curbs filled with trimmed tree branches, broken chairs, and worn out junk. Our curb was no different, yet something was...


We discarded wood used for barbecuing. It was old, it was an eye sore and also a reminder that we don't cook over an open flame anymore. Country Hubby has 24/7 oxygen due to lung issues. Things that don't mix are fire and oxygen tanks, at least not in a healthy way.


Fall clean up is a chance to move out the junk, clear the clutter, and open up spaces. I pushed to get rid of the wood because we don't need reminders of the negative. Let's focus on what can be done outside. What are the positives? What blessings await undiscovered?


My short little post this morning reminds us to choose a mental Fall Pick Up and take out the trash that is clogging up our peace. Let's make space for the good thoughts. Focus on clearing out the negative self talk. It's there, if we take time to recognize it.


It's funny, when I was picking up those old logs and putting them in the wheel barrow, they had been there so long that the roaches had found their Hilton Hotel and were having a roach convention. The multitude scattered and scared the heebee-geebies out of me. I hate roaches and I know I'm not alone. They like dark places. They love nighttime. I think they love scaring me. Ridiculous thought....


So clearing the clutter may disturb the roaches. Likewise, taking time to clear out the mental mess may stir up and wake up things that you'd rather forget. I don't know about you, but i'm ready to trash some old attitudes, countless past hurts and my own negative self talk. I want to be deliberate in my decisions for optimism and joy. So my hat for the day is that of sanitary engineer! I'm cleaning up real physical places and precious mental space.


I hope you do, too.


Hugzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz,

MT

64 views6 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page