top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Life is a Dance

Hello Hatters,


In my retired life, I continue to keep moving. Sometimes, I reflect on times past when my dance mimicked the little ballerinas in the Munchkin City of the Wizard of Oz movie.  In college, movement was a fast paced disco.  Life moved into line dancing, two-stepping, and waltzing.


Lately, I would call my dance a spontaneous hallelujah.  I listen to my K-LOVE style music a lot and you just never know when I’ll break out into a combination of all of my dance styles or stretches.  These movement adventures are freely expressed when I’m alone with my thoughts and my worship.


I recently heard a nurse talk about the importance of movement for the elderly population.  She noted how the sometimes impatient younger generations often push their elderly family members into wheelchairs because of all the rushing here and there.


It made me sad as this nurse explained that wheelchairs are often the beginning of the end.  The stresses of life often manifest themselves into a rushed lifestyle. Yet, movement of any kind helps the body.  So, fast or slow, walk or waltz, dance with a dab as long as you’re able.  And… be patient with your loved ones when they move slowly.


Mine you, I’m well aware of the time when wheelchair are a gift.  Falls are not the kind of movement anyone needs. I was a caregiver who held down a full time position.  I know all too well the difficulties of balancing these responsibilities.  I remember suppressing the rush busting in my soul when I needed to be in two different places at the same time.  Yet, I’m glad I went to as many appointments as needed.


As a writer who wears many hats just like you, we have to keep in mind that someday, we will be the ones that need the care.  It’s a good time to remember to treat others as we wish to be treated.  If someone walks slowly, it is a gift to match their pace.  We’re stronger in community and the important race is to move together when possible for as long as we are able.


Life speeds on, but we can choose our pace while we embrace the dance!


MT Penny

36 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page