top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Many Hands


Hello Hatters,


I'm in a season where my pace is not as rigorous as in past years. This change grants me the time to contemplate the way of things. I have many questions. My curious mind wanders and I’m grateful for the pause. Here’s a glimpse into my path of the last two weeks.


Lately, when I prepare a meal or grab a snack, I give thanks for it. But it’s more than gratitude; I think about the many hands and multiple factors that have made the meal possible. For instance, consider the blueberry. I think of the seeds that were planted to make the blueberry bush, the soil that had to be nourished, and the necessary water and sun. When the blueberry is ripe, there’s a tenderness given by the farmer or the harvester to carefully pick it from the bush. There’s a gathering and the packaging. I imagine a truck driving to a distributorship or a farmers market. A marketplace or grocer has someone to stock the items for sale.

I place food orders for delivery, so if you include those people, there is much effort to fulfill my orders and then deliver it to my home. All of the mentioned steps grant me the experience of a mouthwatering blueberry, the wonderful crisp fruit that I have grown to love over the last several years. I’ve probably missed other steps. I’m oblivious to everything involved. Nevertheless, the consideration adds depth to my appreciation.


Two more yummy journeys to share. Next, I think about the chickens who were cared for so that I might have eggs for my breakfast tacos. I like mine with lots of flavors like crunchy onions and peppers. Don’t forget the salsa! Again, the same process in the care for the veggies to make it to my favorite taco hut. What about the travel of the tortilla ingredients? Really, it’s a fascinating trip when I imagine all the factors and people. At my favorite taco hut, I know my special servers by name. They make money by bringing me the plate of tacos. So, if you include their lives, it takes a whole village just to have tacos!

My last yummy adventure involves coffee. If being factual, I enjoy my cream with a little coffee! I contemplate the journey of the coffee bean that requires the rain, the sun, and the care. Now the cream starts with the grass or grain consumed by the dairy cow, etc. Hmmmm, doesn’t the grass or grain have a start, too? You can tell that this writer who wears many hats just like you, has been captivated with the events and the people involved with blueberries, tacos, coffee and last but not least, the cream.


What a marvelous time I’ve had in the contemplations! It’s not silly or dumb but rather, it adds a richness to the details of my life. Indeed, many hands are needed. Stay tuned for more ramblings.


MT Penny

38 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page