top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Participate

Hello Hatters,


Being isolated from our church has led me back to my piano and my own voice. I looked on-line for some worship music and Amazon delivered a day early. I felt the package and knew it was my new song book. While I’ve been working at home, I have instrumental worship music playing in the background. I opened my package, took a look at a page and just started singing. I sight read and sang really loud as I moved through the pages. I’ve sung these great songs for years in the church. I realized my delight was in the participation of the worship, not just the listening to the music. I suppose it is true of anything that you love, like sports. It is one thing to watch a sport and a whole other level to play it. You’re immersed in the details, looking for the next play. Will you score a point? True enjoyment comes from being involved. It takes true participation, not just watching.

We play a lot of games in our family and sometimes I sit out and just watch. There’s a time for observation, but there’s no skin in the game, no risk. When our family plays games, we all want to win. Not that we’re competitive or anything! The word participation got me to thinking about work, too. It is easy for people to get complacent, just do the minimum. That’s not me. I’m all in, just like a poker game. I’m going to speak up, show up (on-line for now), ask questions and be involved. If someone asks me to do something, I get it done. If I can’t, then I’ll ask for help or get an extension on the final product. Words come alive to this writer who wears many hats, and I got excited as I opened the package that woke up my missing worship. The lost link was my participation and I didn’t even know it was gone. I had felt a sadness deep within but I attributed it to Country Hubby’s health. So, worship is not a spectator sport. I have just been watching our church from YouTube; the experience is just not the same. True worship happened because I was all in. I studied notes, key signatures, timing, pitch, rhythm, chorus, and praise words. I received a revived heart.

I had a great time singing to the Lord. I don’t know about you, but I hope this short little post will help you examine if you’re safely observing from the side lines. Where do you need to participate? Get going! Hugzzzzzzzzzzzz, MT Penny

53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Outside

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page