top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Rush Mush

Hello Hatters,


I was rushing through this morning on auto pilot. I had my Apple playlist jamming and I was singing along with my faith based music. Then, I realized I had heard and sung about 3 songs without a thought about the lyrics. My routine was halted as I heard one of my favorite songs.



I don’t know if you talk to yourself very much, but I have regular conversations with my mind. I said, “Well, there’s a favorite song and you’re just going through the motions without a care as to the meaning!” I wasn’t shaming myself. I just had a wake-up moment. I restarted the song. I lost track of the words and meaning again. I restarted the song a second time. The reason that I was so adamant about participating in the music is that this particular song has brought much peace to my soul in previous months.


Now, I’m not one to tell on myself very often (only every blog post!) (AND, I don’t lean into hyperbole much) .... but I’m telling you that I hit the stop button a third time and was really getting frustrated with my inability to focus on this important song. Three times? I finished making my coffee, packed up, and went to my car.


I buckled up, I backed out of the garage, and rolled down the windows. It was 75 degrees and really pleasant. I stopped the car and put it in park. I started my special song for a 4th time. I closed my eyes. I have hand motions that I’ve adopted for this song. I sang and did the motions. I was finally able to get into that space of slowness. Between the phrases, I did some deep breathing. I felt the song. I believe the words. I soaked in the moments.


Why do we rush and mush about? Honestly, I want to be more deliberate about my actions, don’t you? The phrase “be present” is often used to describe this longing. To walk this life in a more conscious way will require me to rush and mush less. I’ll rephrase: Less mushing and less rushing, please!


When I admit that doubts and distractions often clog my brain and I add those thoughts to my actions of rushing about, I can be a real mess on the inside. So, in my faith walk, it is important that I listen and find stillness. I am grateful for the favorite song that jolted me out of the robotic rush. The fruits of the Spirit like love, joy, peace, and patience are not rooted in rushing around like I did this morning on my auto pilot mode.


The other day I was not feeling well and when that happens, I’m forced to rest. Really? Forced to rest...? I’m a writer who wears many hats just like you and maybe we’re just over committed on obligations. Maybe we say yes to too many things. Perhaps we need more margin in our life. I want to BE. I long to have the moments to listen, think, praise, and sing. I’d like for my brain to come along, too. Right?


My heart, my peace, my soul will be richer for the space. Just like I paused my song for a 4th time this morning, it will take awareness and practice. The reward of more love, joy, peace, and patience will be worth the stillness required. Oh, and that’s not all of the fruits of the Spirit. That list is only about half of them. Can you imagine a place of more love, joy, peace, and patience? By the Grace of God, let’s rush less and see what happens.


MT Penny

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page