top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Splashes

Hello Hatters,


A canvas I treasure was created by Country Hubby. In his work, he matched different paint colors. As he finished a color, he would dap a bit and then flick it on to this canvas of many colors. Year after year, it got fuller and fuller. It was a changing piece of art, while time went by.


The painting reminds me of his and our lives together. We grew in different ways, yet we had a focused devotion to our marriage and to our families. I hadn’t connected those dots until today. His painting changed with time, just as we moved together year after year. His splashes inspired the following poem.


SPLASHES


My posts of late have been laments. Missing Country Hubby much, I admit. Remiss I’d be if not very thankful.

His influence on our paths delightful.

He covered me with strength and passion.

His family felt his everlasting devotion.

His laugh, his smile, so infectious.

Poured out his life to his precious.

One thousand percent he worked away.

Until at last he couldn’t stay.

Left to carry his memory a privilege.

Splashes o’ him there, center, & edges.

Everywhere his touch I see.

Colors of love he gave to me.


by MT Penny

2/12/2021


I’m a writer who wears many hats just like you. Change keeps coming. I know it is constant. As my personal responsibilities have shifted, this slower path has allowed the eyes of my heart to see much beauty in my home. Country Hubby’s touch is everywhere. There’s no sadness in that presence, just a longing. Time and time again, I remind myself to be thankful. It is my best version of me for today and tomorrow, as I remember the past and look upward to more understanding. May you see the splashes in your own journey; they are there.... What do they say?


Hugzzzzzzz,

MT Penny




55 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page