top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Thanks & Wishes


Hello Hatters,

It’s been a few weeks since I’ve written. I’ve been sharing some specific sorrows with a close knit group of family and friends. Their support has been helpful over some really rough spots.

Today, I wish to compose a thank you note to Country Hubby. Oh the special gifts he gave to me and I’m still in discovery! Here goes...


“Dear Love Story,

I am blessed to have known you as one who was comfortable being you. There was not a fake bone in your body or soul.


I received your true love and affections for many years. You never wavered in your attentions or intentions to give me all of yourself. You made special occasions exceptionally thoughtful.


Your shoulders carried my burdens as well as the burden of many others, and yet you modeled an ability to lay it all down at the end of each day. Your strength held my tenderness with great gentleness.


Your joy for pursuing life’s treasures despite your illnesses displayed great endurance. I see the results of your handiwork in our home and in our yard. The bushes and roses that you tended for years are starting their spring growth. The mimosa tree you planted last year is coming back after the bitter freeze in February.


I miss you terribly but my consolation is knowing you’re in a wholeness as a saint in Heaven. I don’t pretend to understand how that all happens, but my faith assures me that you’re at peace and that you’re with God. I am happy for you.


I know that you welcomed your sister this week. Did you invite her to go fishing? (Or should I call it catching?). Did she call you ‘honey’ like she always did while here on earth?


My dear love, I am still having trouble getting to bed. I’d love to hear you say, “Get some rest, sweetheart.” Just last week, I played a few recordings of your scripture reading and your prayers. It was good to hear your voice. I know you want me well in mind, body and spirit. I want that wellness, also.


I’ll need your steadfast arm to walk our daughter down the aisle for her wedding this weekend. I pray to do so bravely and joyfully. It is a bittersweet honor that I wish with all my heart that you were here to be the one by her side. Well, you’re in all of our hearts, so you’ll be well represented.


Thank you, my dear Love Story, for all of these tangible and intangible gifts and treasures. I’m a richer person for having shared your life, learned from your loyalties, and felt and witnessed your generous love. My gratitude for being your wife will span throughout my life. Sending you sweet kisses and lasting hugs. Wishing. Wishing for more time with you.”

I’m a writer who wears many hats just like you and sometimes we need to put pen to paper and write a thank you note. I can only hope that Country Hubby felt my gratitude this side of Heaven. He probably did. He knew me better than I knew myself. Pondering Country Hubby and his affects on me is like peeling an onion. So many layers. I desire to trade my wishing and missing into a delightful appreciation of what was, and what is, and what is coming.


Until next time, hugzzzzz!

MT Penny











49 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page