top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

The Fog Cleared

Updated: May 14, 2020

Hello Hatters,

Saturday’s visit to the cemetery caused problems for me.  The desire to see the gravestones for my parents was not satisfied. There was only a hole for the stone and a temporary marker.  I brought flowers to put on the gravesite but the ground was so hard that I had trouble getting them to stay put. I did not expect to tweak my back.  Ugh!  Ice packs and a muscle relaxer helped some, but I was irritated that the pain persisted. And the sadness from the cemetery visit didn’t help. My reality seemed dull.


Sunday morning, I truly felt like I was in a fog from that medicine.  I showered but I still felt like a zombie.  Not exactly a great mental state for Mother’s Day.  As one daughter made awesome omelettes for breakfast, the clouds were lifted by family laughter.  I really enjoy the interaction of each person at the table.


Then an additional gift was unveiled. Over ten family members recorded videos for me to explain why I am important to them.  Another daughter compiled the videos with music and additional photographs.  My state of mind moved to emotional tears like a gentle rain.  The sweetness of the sentiments kept my eyes moist long after the video’s conclusion.  The deliberate collaboration and investment of time was a beautiful gift.


I was strengthened by the love lavished on me that day.  It cleared my fog. It washed away my clouds and I enjoyed clearing conditions in the tenderness of my family’s care.  The journey of that day was like a weather pattern from a foggy horizon to clear skies. I have my family to thank for that progress. I wanted to share this experience because none of us should underestimate the impact of care and love for another person. If someone comes to mind, reach out and encourage them.

I’m a writer who wears many hats, just like you. On Mother’s Day, I was the recipient of beautiful affection and it was just what my skies needed.

Hugzzzzzzzz,

MT

60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Outside

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page