top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

The Stretch

Hello Hatters,


One of my goals in retirement is to improve my photographic abilities.  It requires an investigation and understanding of all the necessary equipment.  There are so many different kinds of cameras, additional lenses, various batteries styles, and storage cards.  The setting functionalities are overwhelming and it’s enough to make my head spin.


In my mind, I oversimplified this process of selecting equipment, so I’m stretching and learning.  I’ve done a lot of DIY videos on YouTube as it relates to the various models.  However, practical experience is the best teacher for my method of learning.  I have to get started and then review the results i.e. compare the outputs.  That’s a fancy way of saying, “Let me see the pictures.”


I am reminded of various projects for which I was responsible in my career.  I could tentatively plan the process, but the “doing” always required tweaking with flexibility to modify results along the way.  It’s messy and it’s frustrating.  If patience endures, the reward of getting started and seeing the project to a successful completion is awesome.


I find this investigation of cameras the same as my pursuits of project completions.  It’s messy and complicated.  Recently, I took several cameras to compared the results from different settings.  I focused on a vine growing on a fence and other things. I also used my phone’s camera to compare the quality.  It is amazing how good the results were from the camera equipment.  The colors and clarity were outstanding. Again, the actions of getting started provide the momentum to continue the learning process.  I’m far from done.


Right now, it's the stretching to the unknown that is exciting for me. Whether I’m exploring photography or writing or traveling, I want to go the distance.  As a writer who wears fewer hats now, I still feel pretty driven about most areas of my life.


Retirement is not dull.  For example, my most important stretch is in my spiritual walk with Jesus.  I will never be perfect, but I now have hours to spend studying, thinking about, and worshiping the Perfect Savior.  It is wonderful.


My pace is different.  Just like the physical stretches that help improve my body’s flexibility, I want to bring that same agility to each area of my minutes, hours, and days.  No rocking chair on the front porch for me.  Not yet, anyway.


As a blogger, I’ll keep you posted.  lol….

I crack myself up.  I hope you chuckle with me.


MT Penny

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page