top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

To Do or Wait?

Hello Hatters,


I often make lists of things that need to be done and remember that they used to be called Honey-do’s.  There’s the official list of tasks and there’s the things that I notice but ignore until I can’t anymore.


Does anyone understand this awkward tension?  I hope so because I’ll share my story from today.  Maybe someone will relate.


Since my honey do-er is in heaven, I’m my own honey. This honey decided to finally take action on a slow draining bathroom sink. Turns out that it wasn’t that hard.


I made a list of mental questions before I started:

  1. Can I fix this issue or do I need help?

  2. Do I have any previous experience?  What do I remember?

  3. Do I have the necessary supplies?

  4. What day/time will I take care of this task?

  5. How will I test the results?

  6. If the results are a failure, how do I proceed?

  7. If it worked, will I be watchful?  It’s not one and done kind of task.


Sometimes I face chores that make me feel uncomfortable or I have no prior experience, so I found this list to be helpful.  I’ll keep it handy for future reference.


It didn’t take long to discover that I did not have everything that I needed.  I remembered handling a slow shower drain in the past with liquid plumber, so I did have some prior knowledge.


I purchased some new liquid plumber, read the instructions, prepared the hot water, set the timer, and got started measuring and pouring the solution into the troubled sink.


The process worked great.  As I pursue the care of my home, my confidence grows even with the little things. All homes require maintenance, but I confess it used to send me into dread mode.  Of course, I can’t do everything, so I get help.


As you know, I see lessons in many things. Even a slow draining sink can make me contemplate other areas of my journey.


Am I dragging out anything else that needs to be handled?


Absolutely, yes!  As a writer who wears many hats just like you, there are things on my unofficial list that I’m not ready to put on a real list yet.  I’m giving myself enough grace and space to do harder things later.


Most of the harder things left undone relate to my Country Hubby’s things.  I’ve faced a lot of it, but I’m not ready for the last of it.  I’m okay to wait.  The needed motive and momentum will arrive eventually.


I have faith that the wisdom of the Lord will guide me on the timing and handling of the remaining difficult things.  So, moment by moment, it’s a choice to try, delay, or ask for help. There’s a peace when I don’t force myself unnecessarily.  I’m very grateful that this honey can manage some of the honey-do’s.  For the other things waiting for me, they have to make the official list first.  It’s only a matter of time.


MT Penny

28 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page