top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Where's my blanket?

Late night. Worries. Sick kid. Finances troubles. Heavy responsibilities. Relationship issues. Lonesome. Full of doubt. Guilt ridden. Sour grapes.


5:30 am. Do I really have to get up now? No hats for me today, just give me my blanket. I'll cover my head and stay in bed, thank you very much! I'll call in TIRED. Does that work? Picking up the phone, "Hey, boss! This is MT. I'm overwhelmed and emotionally drained. I'm calling in TIRED. See you tomorrow." Click.


Ever have one of those days, you just can't do it? Yeah, I get it. Wouldn't it be nice to have a day to chill. What would that look like for you? Coffee and a journal? Nice hot bath with bubbles? How about more than one bathroom break without someone hollering out your name? Meet a friend for lunch and be real? Shop for something (groceries don't count) and have enough money left for bills?


Why do we rush through each day as though the sky is falling? Can the world last a day without our care, our touch, our work? Also, let's not forget to mention the battle going on in our mind. Is there space in there for peace?


Take a day. Be deliberate. Schedule it. No one is going to do it for you. Look forward to that day. Seek nature or an activity you enjoy. If you're able, turn off the phone, the TV and the computer. Escape. Do it for yourself and those around you. It won't cure all the problems in your life but you might just get a new perspective on something.


When you value yourself enough for self care, it will make a difference. Down time is margin in your life. All books have margins. Old books, new books, and online media have margins. That has never changed. We're like books. Our stories are being written with each action we take. We need space.


Take a day. Do it. The benefits for you and those around you are intangible.


Hugzzzzzzz,

MT









138 views4 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page