top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Create

Hello Hatters,

Many years have passed since I pursued any kind of crafting or creating. This lack of involvement using artsy or practical skills is unusual, because the people in my family are keen on using their hands for creative expression, for making gifts, and for pure enjoyment. Included in the many abilities in our family circle are those who croquet and knit. Others draw, paint or make jewelry. Gardeners and wood workers toil, play, and produce. Chefs cook and bakers bake. Some of us are writers. While I have been involved with that creative expression, I haven’t actually made anything in years.

I take that back... on Super Bowl Sunday, I made charcuterie boards. That felt more like decorating than preparing appetizers. It was fun. It was tasty, but I’m off topic.

(I do follow the rabbit trails in my mind as I share my thoughts). (A dog -squirrel kind of thing, you know? 🙃 Okay. I’m back).

The reason I bring up crafting is that I was recently asked if I wanted to do the flowers for a wedding. My initial gut feeling was that I couldn’t take on that kind of project. I agreed though, because the request was from one of my daughters. She has crafted her whole life, blessed others with her creations, and so it is an honor to engage in an important part of the wedding. There’s something special about yielding to the creative juices and letting them flow that makes me feel happy. Can this widow who recently lost the love of her life claim “happy” right now? Country Hubby would insist that I be wholeheartedly, over the moon, excited. Proceed with abandon would be his wish.

So I had fun shopping, scheming, and imagining the possibilities. As the silk flowers arrived in different deliveries, it was much like a mini Christmas as I opened up each box over a period of several days. It was an experiment to steam silk flowers previously stuffed in boxes back to fluff and fullness. So plans were made for a friend’s help on Saturday, which happens to be today. The moment of planning had reached its peak. It was time for the preparation to mature into performance of the task.

Wait a minute, it’s not that simple.... Gathering glue guns, wire cutters, lace, and silk flowers is the easy part. You don’t just go from preparation straight to boutonnières, corsages, hair trimmings, and a bouquet of flowers. It takes gumption, determination, and a willingness to do and redo. Then.... Repeat. Actually, my friend and I prayed first. Then, just like that, we tried different combinations and got started.


It’s just like anything in life; you’ve got to dive in, take chances, be unique, think differently, and create the vision that is greater than the sum of its parts. I’m a writer who wears many hats just like you and I had my creative hat on today. It’s been a long time. I had to dust off my memory and get messy. I also had to know when to leave it for another day. My messy kitchen table will keep until I’m ready to jump in again.

Silk flower designs is a hobby that will bless a bride and a groom, and perhaps ignite an old passion of mine. Crafting may be a part of my grief journey that will allow the past to touch the present. Will it impact this journey in a positive way? I’m hopeful. Making, creating, sharing; it’s a season for which I’m grateful to try again. How about you? Is there a creation forming inside of your mind? Is there a hobby that you’d like to dust off and begin again? Maybe there’s something new you’d like to try! Thinking comes first; preparing comes second. Doing is the third part. Certainly, it is the hardest part. Does the idea stop at potential or will it mature into action? It’s up to you and it’s up to me.


Hugzzzzz,

MT Penny






37 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page