top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Solo

Hello Hatters,


Today’s road trip brought brightness to my day and a dance to my soul.  I visited a favorite family restaurant, a beautiful river,  an antique mall, and Whataburger for a strawberry malt.  While this was a solo trip, I carried Country Hubby with me with each mile, song, step, bite, and sip.  I celebrate the man with whom I spent 35 years. Today is his birthday.


Not only do I honor our life together, but I celebrate a God-given revelation from my excursion.  It brought healing to my heart.  I have the vision I need to move forward in joy.  I’m so thankful for the message given to me on my trip. It’s good to visit memory lane, but you can’t live there.  I’m here now and so are you.  Whatever is happening around us, we have choices to make and attitudes to bring.


Here are my choices for today.  Part of my food was served cold.  I didn’t complain. I just packed it up and took it home.  The river was low and many old tree roots were exposed.  I looked a long time and noticed the evidence of new growth everywhere.  It’s good to have roots for stabilization, but I have to remember that new growth is also necessary, not just by the river. The antique mall hadn’t changed much.  I didn’t buy anything because I have all that I need.  I took a few pictures to share.


As I was getting ready to leave the antique mall, I was invited to a block party for several businesses in the area.  It was a nice reminder that I still have parties in my future.  You see, when you have a tremendous partner in your life and they die, it’s easy to think that your best days are in the past.  No one gets to make that decision but me and my ability to accept God’s plan for my today and my tomorrows. I may not be able to bring my best self to each day, but with God’s grace and mercy, I am already victorious.


An enjoyable part of the drive was listening to a playlist that I created about six years ago.  It’s a jammin’, God-praising great song list. It’s a good thing I was solo because I sang at the top of my lungs, and not always on pitch. My voice isn’t what it used to be, but it doesn’t matter. The road itself had many curves and lots of construction.  I stayed alert through the singing and praising.  I controlled my speed and watched ahead.  I saw some new lumber in the middle of the road and I was able to avoid any problems with my car.


As a writer who wears many hats just like you, I’m thankful for the reminder of resilience. It’s important work and it’s ongoing.  It takes deliberate effort.  I need to stay alert, guard my mind, and walk in faith.  I may not have had a human in my car, but I stand corrected. I was never driving solo.


MT Penny


41 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Outside

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page