top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

A Well Loved Life

Hello Hatters,


Once upon a time, I had a listener.  It was just one of the many gifts that offered care, comfort, and encouragement.  The lifetime gift of advice was a treasure.


Once upon a time, I had a prayer warrior.  While bended knee was not possible, the posture of prayer was a consistently natural offering on my behalf.  The extent and depth of those intercession was not always known, but I knew they were there.


Once upon a time, I had a model of strength and courage in spite of the suffering.  The source was faith and trust in God when self esteem and self love was not a priority.


Once upon a time, I witnessed artistic flares such as writing, fine arts, and crafts of all sorts.  Many handmade gifts were given in love without regard to the time, expense, and energy spent to create.


Once upon a time, I had a cheerleader for each stage of my life.  Pride rang out in the voice during victory and in the consolation of defeat.  Life brings many highs and lows but this cheerleader was steadfast in support.


Once upon a time, I had a mom who gave birth to me, a breech and stubborn born baby.  She protected me from hardships, many of which I’ve only become aware of as an adult.  She nurtured and enveloped me with her care.


Once upon a time, I became one of mom’s shelters and shoulders for her refuge in hard health times.  Things switched.  Now, I realize that I’m one of the listeners, one of the prayer warriors, one of the models, one of the artists, and one of the cheerleaders for the next generation. 


I may do motherhood and grandmother-hood differently, but I had a great example of a loving and talented woman who blazed the trail for me and others. She taught me the most important aspects of life:  Put God first, love others, and work to serve His  Kingdom.  She did that until the day God took her home.


Once upon a time, mom blessed me with her bosom of love until she couldn’t anymore.  I’ll see her again some day.  I have deep gratitude for her life well loved and because of her incredible influence on my life.


Happy Third Heavenly Mother’s Day!


MT Penny

35 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page