top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Behold

Hello Hatters,


My travels over the last two weeks revealed many things.  People are generally good-natured, roads are usually crowded, hotel beds vary from place to place, and you take your baggage with you.  While that may seem obvious, let me explain.


I carefully packed less clothes than usual but brought along some unwanted items. These kinds of things don’t take space in my backpack or luggage.  I expected a brighter mood with a change of scenery, so I was surprised that I struggled so much with heaviness of heart.


I visited places that triggered memories of a healthy Country Hubby.  Many hand-holding couples walked the streets seeing the sights.  The longing in my being brought aches to my soul and tears to my eyes. I’m used to that journey at home but didn’t know it was going to be a part of this vacation.


Lesson learned:  I can’t deceive myself that location can relieve the grief.  There’s no fix except to surrender to the path.  I know I’m stronger than before but missing my Country Hubby’s love and care is a part of my walk.


Gaining insight into my grief expectations will help with the next trip. Feelings do travel.  I need to acknowledge where I am and recover.  Otherwise, why leave home?


All was not lost because there was much beauty in the large and small.  Flowers, trees, rivers, wildlife, and mountains provided many opportunities to praise God for His creation.  I witnessed kindness in people and I was grateful to travel with a trusted friend.  Souvenir shopping is always a bonus.


I’m glad I went and I was glad to arrive home. My little rescue dog acclimated to my return after one day. While I may be an apprentice traveler, I certainly desire the needed awareness to take my tender feelings along for the next trip. May my curious writer’s mind gather the images of each trip like a bouquet.  While I tend to my emotions, I want to behold the wonder!


MT Penny

42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page