top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Book Ends


Hello Hatters,


I recently visited the town of my Alma Mater.  It happens to be the home of more than my university degree and memories of old adventures.  Some of my family members live there and I attended some special events.  I took a day off from work to avoid rushing through it.  I desired a slower and more deliberate pace.   This day brought with it the awareness of divine appointments and much grace.


Between the events, I had time to prepare for the Bible Study that I facilitate.  We’re starting a new book and its first chapter has 26 or so pages. I made it through page 11 and decided to stop and contemplate the many lessons from the writer.  I was at a local coffee shop during the study prep.  Then I looked up.


A young man had sat next to me and noticed my intense study. I didn’t even know I had a neighbor because I was concentrating on the content of the book.  I loved writing in the margins as I googled additional definitions and resources.  Contemplation with devotion made it a sweet time.


The young man spoke to me with a smile and asked me what I was reading.  I showed him the book and he had his Bible open to the book of 2nd Peter.  He told me of his love for the Savior and his internship.  He’ll start his full time working career in a year or so after he gets his degree.  I reflected on his beginning and the closeness of my retirement.

I told him we were like book ends. He was just getting started in his work journey and I’m closer to the end of my business career.  I gave him some unsolicited advice:  stand your ground with honesty and never hold grudges.


His countenance changed.  He shared that he had hurts for which he was still suffering.  I asked him if I could pray for him. He accepted. In my prayers, I thanked Jesus that He finished it all on the cross and I asked that this tender young man’s heart be able to forgive.


It makes me sad that some people are turned off from church because of hypocrisy and our human frailty.  I shared that thought with my new friend and reminded him that we’re all a mess. We all fall down but we have to get up and keep up the path of emulating Jesus, not other people.  This work takes much grace.


If my new friend is reading this blog, I pray for you and all of us to be renewed each day as we surrender our path to the leadership of The Lord.  Don’t we all need this perspective?  No matter where we are on the path of life, we need God’s grace to look up from our tasks and take in the marvel of each day.


As a writer who wears many hats just like you, I’m reminded to continue the pursuit of my purpose, whether I’m a Grammy, a mother, a sister, a writer, or a student.  I may be closer to the end of one book end, but there are more books to discover.  Let’s look up, share our walk, and  keep learning.


Until next time,

MT Penny

44 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page