top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Candlelight

Hello Hatters,


An evening or so ago, I was outside and I noticed the leafless cottonwood tree in my neighbor’s yard looked golden in the final hours of sunlight. There was a glow from a tree that normally irritates me for all the leaves it loses in my yard. But not that night.  I saw it from the swing in my backyard with a different perspective.  Then a flock of birds continued their flight around the neighborhood again and again and again.  I live on a busy street and there’s much traffic noise no matter the time.  Much was normal in that day, except for the arrival of my rescue dog.  I’m outside with her a lot now.


Because of her, I’m up also up earlier. The precious hours of first daylight bring many waking sounds like of the cooing of doves and the chirping of the sparrows, as these birds search for food. Squirrels are out jumping from branch to branch.  I was amused when I saw a little bird chasing after the squirrel when it invaded its space. I don’t think I’ve seen that before.


There is a bit of routine with my two year old doggie, but we’re still figuring things out.  Isn’t that true of life in general?


I read in the mornings. Today, a sweetness of devotion and scripture lead me to take action to read in candlelight as suggested by an author.  As I read, I saw the four lights as a reminder that the Holy Trinity is always with me. I am the forth light. I must be present, heart, mind, and soul, while I study and worship.  I’m thankful for vivid pictures of His light and grace to teach me in simple ways. 


I’m reminded of a song, (Pass it on), I used to sing to my children at bedtime. The lyrics have a phrase:


“It only takes a spark

To get a fire going

And soon all those around

Can warm up in its glowing

That's how it is with God's love

Once you've experienced it

You spread His love to ev'ryone

You want to pass it on”


While my earthly journey here is short in comparison to all of time, I hope to be light and warmth to those around me just like this candle. I know that my imperfect walk is met by a perfect Savior who loves as fiercely as a lion and as gentle as a lamb.  Thank you, God, for lessons to a writer who wears one more hat (pet owner) than last week.


Candlelight… a reminder to be light, warmth, and fragrant.


MT Penny

29 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page