top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Control Your Planning?

One of my hats is the planner hat. I’m really good at it. No, I’m not conceited I just know it is a strength of mine.


I look months ahead on schedules to optimize results. A phrase I'm known for in my family is, "That would add a nice touch." Result are a key indicator for the overachiever in me (that’s a hat for a different day). Results come in many forms, some of which you can measure and some you can’t. For instance, just because intangible results are too subjective to measure, it doesn't mean that they are not important.


Why am i even bringing up this topic of planning and intangible results? Well, I facilitate a women's Bible Study and the schedule has been driving me crazy. It changes and the schedules get moved. Stressing over circumstances beyond my control is such a waste of energy and peace of mind. How ironic is it that I stress over a schedule, yet one of the main reason we have Bible studies is to enjoy our peace with God, learn His Word and be in a community of believers for support?


Realizing that my reactions to changed plans is out of control is humbling. I cannot let this strength of being a planner be counterproductive. I don't want this God given ability to become a weakness. If I think I control schedules, I am deceived. Who is ultimately in charge of everything? God. God alone knows all and God brings revelation to me through His Word and His People.


I don't know if you share this hat of planner or not. I do know that we all have strengths and we have to make sure that our strength in excess does not become a weakness. Any attribute which swings too far to the right or too far to the left is like a pendulum that no longer allows a clock to move forward.


It's all about balance.


Hugzzzzzzzzz,

MT


41 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page