top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Cooking

Hello Hatters,


Since Country Hubby went to heaven, I haven’t done much cooking for myself. Fruit, snacks, salads, nuts, yogurt, and fast food (not the best, I know) have sustained me.


However, when I have company, cooking is more of a pleasure since I share meals with my loved ones.  In my family, I am known for the saying, “I don’t cook, but I can.”


For years when Country Hubby was well enough, he did most of the cooking while I was working.  Periodically, he would say, “I’m tired of doing the cooking.”  I would reply, “I’m tired of going to work.  I am ready to switch roles if you want.”  That’s when you just keep mushing along as long as needed.


Since my retirement, so many things have changed in a good way, and for the most part I think I have adjusted.  Here’s the latest on the cooking topic.


This week I cared for my grandkids like I did a couple of weeks ago. However, this week I was more prepared because I did some planning for meals.


Isn’t that true for most things?  Having a plan is better than not having a plan.  Granted, planning doesn’t always guarantee success, but the odds are better.


I’m amazed at all the food I’ve prepared just in three days. Dare I say it?  I’ve enjoyed cooking!  Look at this list!

-Pancakes

-Tuna salad

-Chicken enchiladas

-Oatmeal

-Shells w sausage n pink sauce w mushrooms

-Biscuits n gravy

-Chicken n cheese quesadilla

-Crumpets w cream cheese, marshmallow, pineapple and peace preserves


BTW:  My dishwasher broke 2 months ago and I had decided not to replace it. Cooking means a lot more dishes.  I may have to rethink the dishwasher decision if I continue cooking even for myself.


I’m happy that surprise is still in store for me; who would have “thunk” it?


Me… cooking again after all these years.  I’ll look forward to other renewed adventures.


In this journey of cooking, I’m reminded it’s much like my walk of faith. I’m always learning something new or I remember something I forgot.  I’m grateful for a refreshed point of view and attitude.


MT Penny

35 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Outside

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page