top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Day 407



Hello Hatters,


I lingered in my Saturday morning leisure. Prayers and deep thoughts kept me quiet. I counted the days since Country Hubby took his rest from this world. 407 days since he was here.


I searched for a meaning of the number as it relates to the Bible and found Strong's Concordance word number 407:

andrizó: to behave like a man, to play the man. Additionally, I read HELPS Word-studies: 407andrízomai (from 435 /anḗr, "man") – properly, "to act as a man," i.e. as a full-grown, mature man; (figuratively) to be responsible and courageous by taking the initiatives God reveals through faith (used only in 1 Cor 16:13).


Whew! I’ve had a looming task of tackling Country Hubby’s closet ahead of me. I wanted to take up the Lord’s strength, His courage, and bravely start the process. It was like an old fashioned girding of the tunic to run the race.


First thing I did was text my family and my prayer groups to lift me up in prayer, as I didn’t know what to expect in this path. I put on my music and the first song was one that Country Hubby loved to sing: You are my King.


I felt confirmation that today was set aside for the task. Amongst the difficulties, there were tears of joy and I recovered love letters to my man early in our courtship and right before we were married. In the tenderness of my heart even then, I admitted I didn’t know where we were headed, but I was grateful to have met him and get to know him.

That thankfulness continues today.


I made my way through the hard parts and left the rest for another day. The dread of this task is behind me. Thanks be to God and the prayers of many. I needed to do this thing when called to do so in my spirit.


Sometimes you just know. Maybe you need encouragement to follow through with the plan. Where the path leads is not up to me or you, but we have a say in our reactions. As a writer who wears many hats just like you, today I followed my gut and my heart and the Strongs Concordance of the word number 407.

I finished about 3 pm, cleaned up the remaining mess, and changed clothes. A stop at Goodwill, the car wash. and take out Chinese place finished off my list. I had the blessings of talking with various family members and friends and then texted with my brother as we watched football games together but in separate cities. We don’t always agree on who should win, but it’s a fun dialogue.


What about you, my friend? Is there something you need to do? My prayer for your journey is to take action as it is appropriate. Bathe the “thing” in prayer and when the time is right, be bold and get after it. My approach may be different than yours but that’s ok.


My next big dread is to get my income tax stuff ready. Yay!


Not…


As for now, I’m satisfied with what happened today. I’m ready for whatever day 408 brings. I’m not going to look it up in Strong’s Concordance. Bring it Lord; I know You’re with me. I’m never alone.


MT Penny

41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page