top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Different Approach

Updated: Apr 12, 2023

Hello Hatters,

I’m fairly new to this mowing of the yard task. About six months ago, I had my front yard xeriscaped, so that leaves the backyard that needs tending. I’ve got the battery powered mower, the weed eater, the blower, the gloves, the hat, etc. The task that gets me the most tired is the weed eating along the fence lines and around my planters. I have to take breaks.


This morning, I thought that there must be a better way to get this part done. I stopped and looked at the way the weed eater was designed.  I decided to switch hands. Wow!  What a difference it made to give the whacking part a better angle.


No one taught me how to do any of this stuff.  I’ve had to learn by trial and error.  Of course, I was half way through when I stopped to analyze my method, but better late than never.


It is important to look at things from a different perspective in all areas of life. I may be getting to be like an old dog, but I want to learn new tricks.  When my chores are done, there’s more time for study and fun and relaxation.


Speaking of dogs , I learned a new thing about my new rescue dog this morning, too. She doesn’t like fetching sticks, or chew toys.  She likes balls.  I knew I had some balls around the house in my grandkids’ toys and yesterday I found one. I was determined to see if that was her “thing.”  Indeed!  It was so much fun to see her scramble for the silly orange ball and she returned it to my 8 out of 10 throws.


Not bad!


Lesson learned. Never give up trying new approaches. 


Yard work, doggie play toys, anything…


MT Penny

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page