top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Downtime

Hello Hatters,


It started out so cloudy, I couldn’t even see the sunrise. As time went on, the clouds cleared by the time I drove to the beach.  It’s a little seashore on small quaint bay, but still, there’s nothing quite like saltwater to make this city chick smile.  I brought my chair and put my feet in the water.  I had one of Country Hubby’s old mesh hats to wear and some ice cold water.


I watched the birds, the boats, and the tugboats with their barges.  I saw the pelicans dive for a meal and the searching eyes of the seagulls.  I believe the jumping fish doing sideways belly flops in front of me was a mullet.   Mind you, I would not have that knowledge on my own, but as a factoid of having been a fisherman’s wife.


Right about one in the afternoon, there was so much sunshine that every movement of the water spilled out beams of little lights.  Being outside always has symbolism for me.  I think of God’s love that’s all around.  Usually clouds against a blue sky bring me much joy.  For a couple of amazing hours, it was really bright and cloudless, even inspirational.


There was seagrass that took on a life of its own; it moved through the waves and motions of the water.  It passed right across from where I was sitting with my feet in the water and my toes in the sand.  It’s a pretty coarse beach with lots of little rocks and tiny little seashells.  This location as a bay area doesn’t get a lot of big seashells like a gulf or ocean coastline.


Quite a few people were walking the various paths in the park.  I was content in my chair with wet and sandy feet.  Wait!   What?  Uh, big news to the little minnows!  I am not food! They startled me as they nibbled on my feet.  Now I realize that there’s some kind of exclusive pedicure that allows little fishies to nibble on your toes, but that’s not for me. I kept my feet moving and watched the anxious little minnows trying to get to me.


Since I was watching the area by my feet so closely, I had fun watching 3 different hermit crabs travel across the sandy bottom.  All these sea creatures, land and air, look for food a lot!  Lucky for me, while I travel, restaurants are available to satisfy my appetite, and they get to do the dishes! Shrimp daily is my beach motto.


Towards the end of my beach adventure, I saw a little boat out there scooting across the top of the water.  Big smiles for me as it was like a silhouette of a fishing card I’d gotten for Country Hubby several years ago.  One little boat, one big fisherman, and one fishing pole standing up loud and proud.  I wonder if it was a fishing or catching day for that man?


I walked the length of a long pier and the weather changed.  The wind picked up, clouds rolled in, and the temperature dropped.  Such different weather patterns in one day reminded me that change is constant.  Even as I took a day for myself, change followed me.  I don’t know why I expect anything different.  Expectations can trip you up. It’s much better to be flexible whether working or relaxing.


As I walked towards the end of the pier, the resting seagulls stood on one leg until I got close. Then the other leg came down and they took flight; an interesting sight that I’d never noticed before. There were no fishermen that day on the pier but the rod holders were worn and well used.  Probably, used more at night.


I witnessed a sandpiper that hopped on its one and only leg.  It was slower than the others, but it managed.  As a curious writer who wears a few less hats now, what’s that story about the one legged bird?  I wonder about a lot of things now that I have time to ponder.


It was a relaxing day for which I’m thankful.  Everyone needs downtime with an attitude of flexibility.


P. S.  I had shrimp and hush puppies for breakfast.


MT Penny

26 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page