top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Dried Up

Hello Hatters,


August in Texas has a way of drying up things. It’s harsh weather and we get very little August rain where I live. We have a small garden and the leaves are curling up even though I water daily.


There is one plant that loves August and that is okra. I harvest daily so I keep up the routine. Country Hubby is particularly fond of okra prepared any way and on any day. I made a gumbo the other day and it was kinda lite on the whole gumbo taste, but it had okra. I had to laugh that I even called it gumbo! Back to August...


Today, a friend stopped by to pick up a book. I wanted a break from the computer screen so I decided to wait outside in the heat for her. What I discovered was beauty in my front yard bushes. My hedges were trimmed in June and hidden in the top of the green leaves were brown dried up clusters of the clippings. The way they twisted and curled created an unexpected treasure waiting to be discovered. I could have missed the little leaves if I hadn’t paused to look around.



What a treat! Just took a break, found a rarity, and it refreshed me. Dried up leaves, formed in unusual shapes gave me a gladness. Yesterday, as I finished up laundry, my pajamas were out of reach on my bed so I laid down on my bed to bring my PJs closer. I sank into the bed for a moment of just rest. I was probably there for 2 minutes, but I prayed, gave thanks, and felt strengthened.


I am leaning into these moments of simplicities because everything else is so complicated. If you know my situation, you know it is a hard time. Country Hubby is in his last weeks or months and it looms. I welcome these distractions from the sadness. I am a writer who wears many hats and I share my path of discovery with you. It’s not always easy but I will be real about the journey. Everyone is facing hardship these days. Each of us has opportunities to look beyond the routine, find the hidden, discover the uniqueness, and appreciate those gifts. For me right now, I’m grateful for a moment with dried leaves and out of reach pajamas. What are you grateful for today?


Hugzzzzzz,

MT Penny

55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Outside

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page