top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Drive Thru

Hello Hatters,



What would I do without drive thru or curbside pickup these days? So many things are even available for delivery that I hardly have to leave the home. While I am glad for those services and the workers, I admit to missing the dining in restaurant experience and the in-person shopping.


Country Hubby is out of the home these next few days and I’ve gotten out of the house a little. He’s giving me respite care time. Oh trust me, he is not liking it one bit, but it was necessary. Over last weekend, I had a fall into the wall. (Well, at least it rhymes!) Once the soreness settled in, I knew I was in trouble to meet Country Hubby’s needs, much less my own.

While I was out today, I went past so many drive thru fast food places, I thought to myself that I drive through more than just fast food. I drive through life. My pace has gotten out of control. Even though I’m at home most of the time, there is always something pressing to do. I’m the worst at finding the balance. I’m naturally a high achiever and a dad gum perfectionist to boot! I rarely finish my mental lists.


I am a writer who wears many hats just like you, and I don’t want to rush any more. In fact, I’ve tried to slow down but the demands of this season are many and I drive through the lists and the tasks like a freight train.


The fall into the wall was a wake up call. (More rhyming!) How many times have I written about being deliberate, intentional, and alert? It helps me to remind myself and I hope it reminds you, too. Slow it down. My useful visual for this consciousness is a stroll in the park. Eyes glancing from tree to tree or bird to bird. My nose taking in the scents. My ears tuned in to children playing. My feet taking careful steps and my hands free to touch nature. No drive thru signs...

Just:

strolling...

experiencing...

deep breathing...

refreshing my wholeness... going through the park, not driving thru...


Hugzzzzz,

MT Penny

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page