top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Duct Tape

Hello Hatters,


Do you remember the old ‘80’s and ‘90’s TV show named MacGyver?  If not, that’s OK.  My big take away from that whole series was that duct tape can fix a whole lot of things.


I’m a fan!  Of duct tape, that is.


I even travel with it.  Additionally, I have rolls in my kitchen, and in my utility room, and in my garage.  The convenience of the handy roll of duct tape makes for a quick fix or a fast hold for various things.


I like the fact that no additional tools are needed for duct tape.  Plus, I can tear off various sizes.  And, unlike other tape, I don’t have trouble finding the end. The crafter in me likes the variety of available colors. The writer in me relates duct tape to my faith walk.


For instance, my God is always close.  He lovingly crafts things in my life, and He carefully holds all of me and my messes.  I know He redeems those messes into messages.


Sometimes, I think I have unique perspectives on things like duct tape, but not this time.  In May of 2019, www.studentdevos.com posted a devotion about what faith and duct tape have in common:


“… faith is like duct tape because you can rely on it. You know that when you need a patch or to hold something together you can trust the duct tape to do its job. Well, that’s pretty much what faith is.  It’s trusting that God is going to go to bat for you.”



This writer, who wears many hats, highly recommends faith in the One True God.  You can count on Him for all times.


In closing about duct tape, I just thought I’d share that I was well into my years before I stopped thinking it was “duck” tape.  As a matter of fact, I asked Country Hubby why the tape was named after a duck.  We had a good laugh and he told this city chick that it was not duck but duct.


Well, that’s just too much effort to pronounce the “t”.  Duck tape sounds just fine.


Quack!!!


MT Penny

24 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Outside

The Wind

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page