top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Flickers


Hello Hatters,

Candles were lit at my daughter’s and my new son-in-law’s wedding last weekend. There were six memorial remembrances to mention, the last one being for Country Hubby. All was fine for the first five candles, but that last candle kept going out.


We all remarked at the distinctive moment this situation created when my daughter tried several times to light that specific candle for Country Hubby, her daddy. The candle definitely displayed a stubborn characteristic. I heard several people say later that he must have been there in spirit and just blew it out. He was a jokester, no doubt. As much as it entertains me to believe that thought, I know that somehow it was a gift of the wind to linger in that space devoted to the missing daddy of the bride, my Love Story.

That was not the only flicker I witnessed last weekend. If you’re really watching at special events, the lights are everywhere. The delight on the face of Country Hubby’s brother was fun. He pulled out some special dance moves from a few years back. I saw busy parents (without kids for the evening) steal kisses during the meal. Other children darted under the strands of evening lights. Fireplaces created a shimmer over the reception. The misty eyes of the bride and the groom during the evening revealed true love’s fireworks. The symbol of the moon was important during their courtship, but even the moonlight requires illumination not of its own making. Light is necessary for the flicker.


As special photography was used to capture the night’s events, there were a lot of flashes. Then, sparklers were used to send the newlyweds off to their mini honeymoon. There was much excitement when the guests gathered for more flickers.

For me, I’m a writer who wears many hats just like you. Last night, I was grateful to toast the happy couple without tears of sorrow for my missing Love Story, but rather to toast them with hopefulness for their own future together, in their journey of oneness in marriage. As a wise pastor told Country Hubby and me before our wedding, the best kind of love is like a fire with the warm twinkling coals that last longer and run much deeper than a regular flame. Now that’s the kind of flicker I pray for these newlyweds.


Hugzzzzz,

MT Penny






53 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page