top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Flowers

Hello Hatters,



I recently gave away some vases to my daughters. It tugged at my heart realizing that I wouldn’t be getting any more flowers from Country Hubby. That season of him coming to my office (before Covid) with a bouquet of roses or carnations is over. He never missed an anniversary, birthday, or Valentine’s Day. Years ago, I received flowers from him for no special occasion. I called to thank him and he said he’d thought he’d hurt my feelings about something, so he wanted me to have an “I’m sorry!” by the way of flowers. He was especially thoughtful to me because he wasn’t just my love story, I was his.


Today is my birthday and I was doing some chores when the doorbell rang. I received flowers and a birthday balloon from a precious friend! I called her immediately to thank her for her thoughtfulness. I shared the story of my vases being given away and that the flowers and the balloon meant a lot to me. Then she said the container was a cup. I knew it was a cup. It’s different than a vase....I see.... It’s a different kind of container and I’m in a new season. There are signs everywhere.


The cup will hold new kinds of memories and continued love from a treasure of a friend. The card on the arrangement said, “CELEBRATE”. That word used to be really special to me, but had faded into the background. What a great reminder that there’s still more life to live and celebrations to share. I know this journey of grieving the loss of my Country Hubby continues. Yet, I’m glad that I still have flowers, cups, and words of encouragement like CELEBRATE today, and BEAUTY in my future.


I’m a writer who wears many hats just like you and today is full of possibilities for all of us. We’ve got blessings to enjoy and ponder. We have opportunities to be helpful to others. As I view my life in a different way, it’s like the vases I gave away. The unexpected showed up as flowers in a cup. This cup will eventually hold my coffee and the sweetness poured in and tasted is up to me.


Hugzzzzz,

MT Penny

49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page