top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Guardrails

Hello Hatters,

Over the last several days, I've driven about 600 miles on highways and country roads. This was my first solo trip since Country Hubby passed away. I had to work up my courage and step on the fear factor. When you’ve traveled with someone else for over 35 years, it’s not natural to just get up and go without processing the journey ahead.


My alert status was on high, my music was my companion, and I looked around as much as possible. Construction is everywhere and anyone in my family knows that I’m a fan, whether it delays me and other drivers or not. My employer is heavily involved in many types of construction, so I always do a hoot and a holler, “Yay! Construction!”

Along the way, I noticed many guardrails. Most of them were in good shape and protecting the off limits areas to vehicles. On occasion, I saw torn up and twisted guardrails, too. Something definitely ran into those barriers. It made me wonder if people were injured. Then, I consider the symbolism.


Emotionally, I was better at staying the course with the hard parts of life when Country Hubby was alive. He listened and cared for me. In a sense, he was a guardrail for me in many ways. His protective nature gave me ease of mind and a sense of security. I really miss that part of his strength. I long for his tenderness, his direction, and his presence. He had such confidence in his well lived life. He was a bright person in so many ways.


He lit up my life, for sure. I recently had a dream about him; it was a precious gift. I saw him as healthy, young, and vibrant. I hugged him for a long time. He didn’t speak, but I asked him to come home. As soon as I spoke the words, the dream was over. Even in the dream, he was a guardrail. There are barriers between this life and the next. It’s not my time to be with him, yet. I know I have much to do and a purpose to fulfill.


As a writer who wears many hats just like you, we have paths to cross, people to bless, and work to accomplish. How about you? Seen any guardrails lately, literally or metaphorically? Look for the messages. I see them everywhere. I hope you do, too.


MT Penny

51 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page