top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Gutters

Hello Hatters,


It’s raining and my gutters are not working. The rain spills out everywhere because of the debris caught in the space meant for the runoff water. I shake my head as I realize that’s just one more thing that needs to be addressed on my house of old but it’s my home of gold.


We need the rain. The trees, plants, and grasses have been parched. The rain washes and feeds. My flowers will bloom more. The animals will find new puddles for their thirst and fun. The aquifer will rise.


This reminder of clutter in the gutters has a deeper meaning for me. I cannot be refreshed if I have junk in the way of my refreshment. Too many emotions can cloud my ability to be fed, cleansed, and refreshed. “Emotions illustrate; they are not the final authority,” says my therapist.


Of course, the current situation of Country Hubby’s decline in health creates much angst for me. I recognize that I’m extra sensitive right now. In the book of Ecclesiastes, one of the themes is a that there’s a season for everything. This season is hard. As the rain comes and goes, I need to make sure that my emotional gutters are not cluttered with “oughts” and “should haves” as I make decisions and choices for the moments now and in the future. It’s important for me to be quiet long enough to let the rain fall on my soul. There may be claps of thunder and lightning, but I will make it through the storm.


I’m a writer who wears many hats just like you. I see life in the little things. I see lessons in the rain and today I see symbolism in my gutters. Make room for the rain to wash all over me. Renew my mind and heart. See things clearly. Look for brightness and beauty amongst the hard. It’s there.


I hope you have a refreshing rain in your neck of the woods. If you need it as much as I do, check your gutters for clutter, literally and figuratively.


Hugzzzz,

MT Penny



52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page