top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Haircuts

Hello Hatters,


As the school year approaches, many students prepare for their first days with a new haircut.


This last week my own grandchildren got new hair styles: shortening of hair, a bit of bangs, etc. While I know I’m not in school anymore, I smiled as I remembered I cut my own hair last week. I like the freshness of a cut, even if it’s just a trim around the face.


I have a daughter and granddaughter who teach elementary school. Their preparation for the school year started at least two weeks ago. I had the privilege of helping one of my daughters with some prep work for a preschool art project. The purpose of the project includes a lesson on how to use preschool scissors.  Learning is better when it’s fun!


There were pre-printed faces without hair. My job was to prepare sticky notes and place them on top of the head.  The students will learn the methods of cutting by giving creative haircuts.  I’m sure the results will be adorable.


I am reminded of an old family story I heard over and over as I was growing up.  It involved my older sister who was a preschooler at the time.  I was barely a year old with super curly ringlets of hair that everyone adored. The comments people made about my curls caused much jealousy for my preschool aged sister who had straight hair.


She decided to get scissors and play beauty shop with me as a client.  I’m not sure what I looked like when she got done, but the curls were stuffed into a little plaster of paris dutch shoe.  Our upset parents found that little shoe much later after my hair grew back.


My sister hates that story and yes, I asked permission before posting this story on my blog.


One of my other daughters decided to give a friend a haircut in the middle of kindergarten class.  I had a phone call from a very stern teacher, and when I went to school to pick up the kids that day, I was greeted by a very upset parent.


Haircuts. Haircuts. Haircuts.  Scissors, in the hands of an expert, have the potential for much art.  It is good that my daughter will be teaching these preschoolers how to use scissors properly.


This lesson applies to everyone’s life. Sometimes we make mistakes, other times we have difficult emotions.  But that’s life. We are perfectly imperfect.  In my faith walk, I am so grateful to be loved no matter where I am.  I have to embrace today’s situation, because I’m already accepted as I am and where I am.


As a writer, who wears many hats just like you, life sure would be boring if we didn’t get messy, cut the wrong thing, or make a stray art-stroke.  Caution is wise, but fear is not.  Hopefully, our paths (like hair cuts) provide opportunities for discovery, curiosity, and growth.


MT Penny

48 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Outside

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page