top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Hot water on the left?

Hello Hatters,

Our house is old if truth be told. The home is gold and won’t be sold. (Yes, I've been reading Dr Seuss books to the grandkids. Can you tell?) I digress.


Recently, the kitchen sink fixture literally crumpled right out of its frame. A quick trip to the hardware store and help from a family friend produce a shiny new working faucet. A plumber‘s hat is not even an option for me.


Who decided that hot water goes on the left? Our friend hooked up the hot on the right. So I just use a reminder label of the change and go about life...


Except when I don’t... Like today. I was stuck. Do you ever get stuck thinking about why or how things turn out a certain way?


I’m not really stuck on plumbing; I’m stuck somewhere else and the kitchen sink became a launching pad for my thought processes.


Here are are my questions: Why did that person say that? How did a perfectly good day go down the drain in just a moment? What happened to my jolly smile? Where is the re-direct to get me back on track?


The point is, I got out of sorts (as mom used to say) and I don’t like being off-kilter. But I got derailed today.


I’ve taken the time to reflect and recognize where I was, validate my feelings, and now I’m ready to move to a better emotional place.


The process of thinking and understanding my earlier feelings started because I wondered why the hot water is supposed to be on the left. I’m so glad our family friend put the hot on the right and made me ponder. My mind works in mysterious ways and I just went on a mental walk about. I ended up at the sink and drained out the unnecessary clutter. I hope you do, too.


Hugzzzzzzzzz,

MT

60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page