top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Intentional Spaces



This weary traveler took a trip to rest, refresh, and renew. I’ve done a few business trips that have yielded high results, but there is more than just wear and tear or added miles on a vehicle. It takes a toll on reserves, so the tank needs gas, and I’m not talking about the car.

As I drove to my R&R destination, I saw wind farms in the distance. They were about an inch tall in my field of vision. I have always enjoyed seeing this phenomenon and a re-invention of Don Quixote’s windmill of 4 vanes. I know only a little of their functionality except that they produce electricity in wide open spaces. They are renewable energy. Ah, yes, I need that! I enjoy the growth I witness as they become closer in the trip. I ask myself questions such as, “Why are there only 3 blades and not 4?” “What are the life lessons?” and finally, “Wow, how did it get so big?”


I don’t get answers right away but it is in the ponderings that I enjoy the added perspective. Not only do these wind turbines grow in height, but they grow in width. In the industry for which I work, I know that the higher the structure, the deeper the required substructure. I like the fact that they need a solid foundation and that they have 3 points. It reminds me of my faith walk and the necessity of stability of Biblical beliefs. As I see the 3 points, it stirs my soul about the Trinity. Additionally, I see the need for some added wind in my own sails. Outside of my own needs, another lesson came to me a day later.


Each individual turbine reminds me that when we meet one person, we see about an inch into their life, and we have to get closer to see their dimensions and their foundations. The opportunity arises to see the beauty of their passions amongst the struggles. This is not a one and done drive by activity. I can’t spend five minutes with someone and think that I know them. I could spend a whole lifetime knowing someone and not truly see them if I just drive by.

If I want to witness the marvel of the living soul, it takes time. I’ve got to get up close. It gets messy and real when you’re in it for the long haul.


Each one of us is a complicated mixture of height, depth, passion, and struggle. It has been my experience that the longer I stick around, the richer the recipe. In some cases, you see behaviors for which I learn I never want to exhibit. In many of the cases, we have to walk lots miles and in other’s moccasins to learn the mettle of their make-up, experiences, and perspectives. Learning from others is available to all of us.


As a writer who wears many hats like you, I enjoy the newness of ideas, concepts, and experiences. I like having time to think about wind farms and what they mean to me. I also want to be slow to judge and quick to listen. I want to slow down for the walk and not miss the journey. I think about you, the reader of my blog, and wonder about the speed of your days. Is it rushed? Can you lessen the load? Do you see windfarms and have the time to let your mind wander about the treasures in the sky?


I’m in a season of life that is changing. I’m stretching into my God-given purpose. I take time to smile at people but I’m also smiling at myself, too. Silly me; I have a need for laughter and lots of it. I tell dad jokes at work and I trade dumb jokes with a nurse friend of mine. My Country Hubby always told jokes so I am fulfilling that void with friends. We laugh and lighten the load of life with jokes, virtual happy hours, shared meals, and a whole gambit of things that enrich the days. I miss my man; I miss his laughter; I miss his warmth. I know he would want me to be at peace. I’m getting there. Nights are still hard for me, but I see progress. There’s no such thing as perfection this side of heaven.


If you look hard enough, there are signs and lessons everywhere. As I see them, I’ll share them. I hope you look, too. As I close, the lyrics of The Impossible Dream from the musical, Man of La Mancha, come to mind: “To dream the impossible dream, to fight the unbeatable foe, to bear with unbearable sorrow, to run where the brave dare not go, to right the unrightable wrong, to love pure and chase from afar, to try when your arms are too weary, to reach the unreachable star, THIS IS MY QUEST, to follow that star, no matter how hopeless, no matter how far…


Ok…. I’ll rest first. Take care, friends.

MT Penny

38 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page