top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

It’s Soup!

Hello Hatters,


I was prepping some celery and onions for a soup this morning.  Soup seems like a good choice since the weather has been extra cold and now, extra wet.  My location got almost 4 inches of rain overnight.  Rain, a bonus since we’re still in extreme drought conditions.


I’ve been doing more meal prep in the morning when my energy is higher.  Typically, I’m not a recipe follower, but more of an ad-lib kind of a cook.  I depend on the ingredients in my refrigerator, pantry, and freezer for my ‘Grammations’.  That’s short for Grammy Creations.  Sometimes that method works well and sometimes it’s a flop.  I suppose I know enough cooking hacks to straighten out mishaps, and I know when to throw in the towel and go to Schlotskys!  Yum!  That bread!


Anyway, today’s soup goal is to have a southwest kind of flavor with black beans and corn.  Adding tortilla chips and grated cheese will be tasty.


I got to thinking… My days are sometimes soupy.  Strange, right?


Some days, I’m having an emotionally strong day, so it feels like a good hearty beef stew day.  Just thinking about my Country Hubby’s beef stew with home grown vegetables gives me strength.  I go on about those hearty stew days with purpose and the ability to check off tasks from my to do list.  Decisions are easier to make on a beef stew day.


Sometimes, it’s a chili kind of day.  Excitement fills the air like the spices in my chili.  Maybe I have plans for a movie or a dinner.  No plans?  No problem!  Make some; be spontaneous.  Call or text a friend for lunch!  We all need chili days full of fun and adventure.


So, let me be honest.  A few days ago, I would have labeled that day a ‘chicken soup for the soul’ day. I was gut punched while walking through Walmart.  I searched for Valentine’s Day goodies for my family.  I was doing just fine until I saw the section for Valentine’s Day cards for ‘husbands’.  I grabbed my chest with instant angst.  While I think of Country Hubby a lot, I never know when it’s gonna hit me hard that he’s not here.  Yes, I needed warm chicken soup for my heart in that instant.  I walked away quickly to gather myself.


Even the Food Network states that “a bowl of warm chicken soup boost levels of serotonin, which is a brain chemical that produces a calming effect.”  I needed a blanket, soft socks, and a cup of comfort.


Yet, my best helps are prayer and scripture.  My heart takes courage with this remedy:


”Wait for and confidently expect the Lord; Be strong and let your heart take courage…”   Psalms‬ ‭27‬:‭14‬ ‭AMP‬‬


Then, there’s alphabet soup day when anything from A to Z can and does happen.  How far is it to Schlotskys?  (That’s 8 consonants.  May I buy a vowel?)


No, wait!  They have soup!


MT Penny

28 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Outside

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page