top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Kindness not Stereotypes

Hello Hatters,

During the last two weeks of January, I traveled over 1000 miles on major highways and back roads. I shared the road with many large trucks. There were 18 wheelers, commercial service vehicles, camper trailers, and many others. Most of the truckers were courteous with only a few driving too fast or in the wrong lane. I generally keep my distance from most vehicles on the road. That’s how Dad taught me, and that’s the benefit of having worked for a company that believes in training and living a safety first lifestyle. #rabakistner


Just in the last few days, I saw an article about a shooting by a trucker driver. It made me so sad for the victim, as well as the anger that seems so prevalent. It was a road rage incident. I hope the general public is not quick to judge and stereotype other people in the same industry and in their jobs.


In my own career, being that I was an accountant, there was the typical teasing with bean counter jokes (which gets old by the way). When you pigeonhole a person into a specific space, it feels like disrespect. In actuality, there’s very little understanding of one person’s job as it relates to another persons job. Seeking to understand is a better use of time.


Getting back to the truck drivers, I read up on the challenges they face. I found that most truckers suffer from lack of sleep, far too many hours, not enough help, too much time away from families, bad weather, and a variety of other problems. A typical day for a truck driver is one who covers about 500 to 600 miles per day. This fact alone brought perspective on my two week trip with over 1000 miles.


I was in a Dollar General store months ago and there was a trucker ahead of me in the checkout line. I spoke to him about how I was thankful I was for truckers who moved our products and got them to market. He was obviously having a bad day and said he felt very much unappreciated. I told him I was sorry and that I couldn’t imagine it.


I just want to shout out to everybody that works so hard to provide for themselves and their families. Life is hard but it’s sweeter as we lift each other up instead of tear each other down. Living this way is straight from a Biblical point of view. We need to stay away from stereotypes and prejudices.


It breaks my heart to see the division in our country. As for me, I want kinder words from my own mouth. I desire thankful thoughts from my own mind. It starts with each of us.


I don’t often get on a soapbox, but today I just want to speak out in the name of kindness, love, and helpful actions. So, to all of us residing on planet Earth, think of others. Everyone is facing difficulties and we don’t know the whole story, nor do they know the extent of our own.


Written with a solemn heart,

MT Penny

32 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page