top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Learning Never Stops

Hello Hatters,


I have a couple of stories that weave together as lessons for myself and maybe others.  I’ve been praying about this blog for a while, so let’s get started.


First of all, I’ve never been one for using night lights.  I like to sleep in a dark room.  Also, I’ve been very conscious of unnecessary electricity usage.  For example, It has been so hot lately that I’ve been closing my utility room door to help insulate the main part of the house from the heat of the garage.  It is a new routine for me.


A week ago, I came in from the garage and forgot about the closed door.  I was in a silly rush and I smashed my face into that door.  My nose took the brunt of the blow because of my glasses. I literally thought I might have black eyes in the days ahead because I hit the door so hard. Guess what?  I put a night light in that room to avoid another painful nose experience.  There’s a time and a place for darkness, but not when you come in from sunshine and there's a need for the eyes to adjust to the light difference.  Plus, I know that hurrying is a bad option.


I lived a rapid lifestyle for so long that I’m still learning to slow my pace.  I hate that feeling of angst when I pressure myself to do something quicker or I didn’t complete my list of tasks for the day.  Six months of retirement and I’m still caught off guard when I scramble around with self imposed deadlines.


Secondly, I’ve been traveling regularly to help one of my daughters who has new health challenges.  That situation keeps me packed and ready to leave within an hour, as needed.  As I try to help comfort her and the family, plus assist with household tasks, the silver lining is one of presence with my loved ones, including some of my grandchildren.


The challenge for me is letting things go undone at my own home for those periods of time.  Since I’m such an organizer, planner, and a neat freak, those traits do not serve me well in the current circumstances of my daughter’s healthcare needs.  Helping her takes priority over the dust in my home, the weeds in my xeriscape yard and backyard.  I write this part to be completely honest with my struggle to balance this season of life and reduce self imposed pressures of my personality type.


Thirdly, I took time today to worship by playing my piano.  I’ve played the piano since my fourth grade and I’ve had periods of intense practice and then years of playing only at Christmas.  I desire to play more and polish my abilities.  I enjoy music very much especially if I’m singing or playing an instrument.


A new addition to my playing the piano was the howling of my rescue dog.  I wondered if she liked the music or what?  I often play instrumental music for her when I’m gone.  I tried to look for answers on the internet but opinions vary, so I’ll just pick the one that says she’s calling to her pack.  I am her pack, according to the rescue center worker who’s provided advice on separate anxiety.  The only other time she howls is when I leave her with others and when I return home. She’s an emotional doggie who longs to belong.  I get it.


As a writer who wears many hats just like you, I’m being schooled on the following:

Ditch the dash!  Put the brakes on the skates!  Get out of the perfectionist game; adjust, relax, worship, and be present to howl with your pack.


I’m still learning.  Aren’t we all!


MT Penny

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page