top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Lighten the Load

Hello Hatters,


Recently, I’ve become aware of how heavy my kitchen dishes weigh. I’m usually the only one doing kitchen duty, when it’s just Country Hubby and me. Even the cereal bowls seem excessively hefty. I’m not one to observe a problem and do nothing. So, I’ve lightened the load and boxes have been packed containing the big stuff. I have replaced them with simpler items. They are pretty and manageable.


I need simplicity in this complicated season. Country Hubby struggles so, just to do small things. As his health continues to get more complicated, I’ve simplified routines. I make lists. I ask for help. Furniture has been adjusted to meet his needs. This is the important mission now; meet his final needs.


Two days ago, he told me very sweetly, that he’s a simple man and can’t understand how he was lucky enough to marry me, beauty and smarts all in one package. His love has never needed complexity. It’s been pure from the start and he’ll see his life through showing affection to our family and friends until his final breath.


I know that everyone is dealing with hard things in our world lately. As a writer who wears many hats just like you, I’ve found blessings in lightening the load. Expectations for perfection have been traded for being fully present. There’s a huge difference; one that offers more peace and joy if we’ll just accept simplicity. Strip away the unnecessary. Purge the excess. Concentrate on the one or two or three things that really matter.


My renewed and lighter kitchen is just an outward example of what has happened to me on the inside. When the life of a loved one hangs in the balance, clarity steps in and emphasizes what’s really important. I hope you’ll examine any heaviness in your world and lighten the load. You’ll help others and yourself into the Light.


Hugzzzzzz,

MT Penny

51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Outside

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page