top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Marbles

Updated: Jun 6, 2021

Hello Hatters,



Sometimes, I think I’m losing my marbles. I’ll walk into a room in my house and forget why I went there in the first place. I have driven past the correct exit for my destination. I’ll stand at the mirror in my bathroom trying to focus on what I’m supposed to do next. It is a distracted state of mind, just as if my brain is missing a few marbles. If you find them, please return to sender. I know that I’m not myself and haven’t been for quite some time. Actually, the real truth is that I’m adjusting to this new life of being alone, and it’s not easy. Even though I’m still grieving, life keeps moving, and there are things that have to be done. Recently, the remote control for my garage door stopped working in my truck. I threw a childish fit about it. I didn't know how to fix it and I really didn’t want to know how to fix it! I just wanted it to work. Of course, the root of that problem is the missing Country Hubby who would have made sure that it was fixed. He probably has my missing marbles and I need both. I need my Country Hubby and my marbles. Well, now I just sound like I’m whining, so I’ll move to the point of the post. Today, I decided to knuckle down and fix the remote control of the garage door opener. It's been raining a lot lately and it would be very convenient to have the door working properly. Not knowing what I was going to need, I got batteries, a screw driver, and a ladder. I searched on my phone for the correct procedure. I looked around in a cabinet known for gadgets and to my surprise, I found a different remote. I went outside with all my stuff. I climbed the ladder and hit one button and the new remote was already programed. Seems as though Country Hubby had taken care of it after all. I am grateful to have put aside my angst, my irritation, and just tackle the project. It took hardly any time at all compared to the energy of my emotional outburst. There’s definitely a rawness to these frustrations of not knowing how to handle circumstances. I also had been wrestling with my cable company and what to do with the ridiculous prices. Yesterday, I installed a fire stick and fired my cable company. (ha ha... fire and fire!) I’m whittling down my list of irregular chores. I know there are some things I won’t be able to do, so I’m just knuckling down on what I can do.

It turns out that “Knuckle Down” is a term derived from the game of marbles and it first appears in the mid-1860s in American English. A player puts a knuckle to the ground to assume the shooting position in marbles, thus the term knuckle down. Maybe my marbles aren’t missing but rather they have been stuck. As a writer who wears many hats just like you, I am learning to make decisions previously left in the hands of Country Hubby. In my faith walk, emotions are better spent in worship and praise. My real need is not replacing the missing marbles, but proper focus of the marbles that I do possess. My eyes needs to be on my God, and He will lead me to do the right things at the right time. I’m not sure what task will be done next, but I’ll knuckle down, and get it done.

MT Penny

51 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page