top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Missing Pillow Case

Hello Hatters,

Recently, we were blessed with loving visits of a sister, a brother, daughters, and grammybabies. We’ve had many people come to spend precious time with Country Hubby. Some of them were here multiple days. As they prepared to leave, they wanted to leave the guest beds ready for the next visitors. So, linens were washed and beds remade. Along the way, one pillow case joined the world of missing socks. Searching for this pillow case turned into an emotional meltdown for me.


The situation revealed my thin emotions. After all, a missing pillow case is not a big deal in a normal situation. However, nothing is normal right now, and at the top of that list is the illness of Country Hubby and my unraveling nerves.


Two days ago, the electricity was abruptly cut off due to an auto accident knocking out a nearby light pole. Again, not a big deal in a normal environment, unless your loved one needs oxygen from a constant flow concentrator plugged into an electrical outlet. It took me a couple of panicked minutes to remember the portable oxygen tanks in the corner. After a call to the power company, we were notified that it would be multiple hours before the electricity would be turned back on.


Months ago, I had turned in critical care paperwork to the power company for Country Hubby’s medical needs. I’m not sure if those documents worked, but power was restored an hour earlier than expected. I was thankful.


Thanksgiving is the cure for panic, missing pillow cases, remembering portable oxygen tanks, and calming my thin emotions. It seems I have to relearn this lesson over and over again. Be thankful in all circumstances. I’m a writer who wears many hats just like you. I’m a student forever as God continues His work on my character. I desperately need His Grace for this journey. Thankfully, I know He’s here. Right here.


P.S. He knows where that pillow case is hiding!


Hugzzzzz,

MT Penny

59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Outside

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page