top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

OUTSIDE

Hello Hatters,


I spend more time outdoors lately in spite of the pollen, weather changes, and rain. Caring for my rescue dog is one of the things that draws me there.  Multiple chores are always waiting for me indoors and outdoors, but I confess during the cooler Spring weather, I enjoy the outdoor chores more than the indoor tasks.


While I work outside, I notice the growth of the roses, the crepe myrtles, the red tip bushes, and my esperanza bush.  Those images please me as I know the care that Country Hubby gave to them for many years and they continue to flourish now that I am learning how to do things outside.


What isn’t doing well in my yard is my magnolia tree. Last summer’s heat really did it in.


Per website: www.allaboutgardening.com, “Drought stress can cause damage to an entire tree. Magnolias don't like to be waterlogged, but they do like their soil to be kept moist. Drought stress can show up in the form of leaf scorch, or as damage to the entire tree. Feb 18, 2023.”


I was not cognizant of its suffering until I had my front yard xeriscaped in July and August of last year. My focal point had been down on the ground and the poor tree needed water.  I didn’t notice.


As I started looking at the whole front yard from a distance, the magnolia tree finally caught my attention. Wow!  It looked bad.  It still looks bad.  It’s like the tree needs a healing.


I can relate.  As much as I think I’m making progress on my grief journey for Country Hubby, there are regular and frequent sad times.  Sometimes on the inside, I feel like I must look as bad as that magnolia tree.  It’s an ache that isn’t easily ignored or healed on one, two or three seasons.


Then, there are the more resilient reminders in my outdoor environment that also feel like me.  I saw my first rosebud this morning which gives me happy smiles.  Then I saw an inchworm trying to climb the side of my hot tub.  It fell over and over again, but it kept trying.  There’s nothing worthwhile for an inchworm in a hot tub, so I took a leaf, picked it up and moved it by a tree.  Even an inchworm can speak to my heart.  Keep trying, keep working, keep resting, and repeat.


My faith walk helps me the most because I know I’m here for a purpose and there’s a calling on my life.  I’m thankful to know that my ability to keep showing up is rooted in God’s grace and mercy.  He knows my struggle, He holds me, and He speaks to me through Scripture, family, and friends. He’s always with me.


Sharing my blog helps the writer in me who still wears a lot of hats.  Being honest, living real, and showing gratitude are some of the keys to my path of hope.  My outdoor experiences are full of examples of where I am and who I aspire to become.  Like the rose, though, I have some thorny parts.  It’s just part of this human’s journey.  I’m sure you know what I mean.


We’ll walk it together.


MT Penny

26 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page