top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Post Office-more than just mail

Hello Hatters,

I pass by my local post office two times each work day.  It is less than two blocks from my home and a known location, so I can use it as a reference point for my address.  “I live by the post office.”  When my parents lived with me, they made regular visits as they had a box inside the building in lieu of using my physical address for mail.  Sometime when I was already off to work, they would decide to run errands and get to the post office and wonder if they closed my garage door.  They turned into the post office parking lot and do a turn around to check the garage door.


Lately, I have found myself rather distracted when I leave for the office and sometimes I can’t remember if I lowered my garage door.  I get to the post office area and go through the parking lot to return to my home and check the status of my garage door.  To date, I have been consistently and habitually closing my garage door.  It bugs me, though, that I can’t remember doing it.  I’m in good company……


One morning last week, I saw a doe being chased by a big dog.  She headed into the back area of the post office. While I am known for being a canine lover, I was pretty mad at THAT dog.  I understand nature has its own way of things, but it seemed cruel since the doe was young and almost the same size as this large dog.  I didn’t get to see how it turned out.  I am hopeful that the leaping abilities of the doe were enough for an escape across the fence.


My post office seems to be the place for a safety check, not only for me to do a re-route back to the house for a garage door review, but for the doe who ran behind the building for a great big jump to safety from the dog (at least in my imagination).  It’s in the neighborhood; it’s my opportunity to turn around; it is more than just mail.


As a writer who wears many hat just like you, I try to be conscious of curiosities around me and yet I’m easily distracted.  Messy and mysterious, life is…..  I’m looking for lessons to share and today I wanted to let you know of my “more than a post office” facility.   Mostly, the parking lot!  It’s never too late to turn around.


MT Penny

41 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page