top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

ROADS

Hello Hatters,


Life keeps drawing me to many kinds of roads.  As you may know, I retired from a company involved in many things to improve our world, including construction. I have such a great respect for anyone working in the Texas extremes of weather, or should I just say, The Heat!


I am quite the enigma in my family when I celebrate construction on roadways, despite the delays.  I know much work happens not just on the highways and roads, but I know a little of what happens behind the scenes. My knowledge of the construction may not be complete, but I know there are lots and lots of details.


The thing I really noticed on my recent travels is the different kinds of on-ramps for highways.  I live very close to a fly over ramp, which is very convenient and efficient.  It’s so high you miss a lot of congestion and details below.


The ramps on a completed highway are easier to maneuver, as they are longer and wider for the vehicles.  Access to that main thoroughfare or highway is easier, so it’s less stressful.


Conversely, when there is a lot of construction, sometimes a ramp onto a busy highway is very short and quite nerve-racking to navigate, especially during peak traffic.  Every detail of that approach requires your utmost attention for everyone’s safety.  If you've traveled with me, you might have witnessed some white knuckles on the steering wheel during such an entrance onto that freeway.  Might I add, I do a lot of quick prayers and praises like, “Help me, Jesus!”, “Thank you, Jesus!”  And yelps for joy! Whew! Woo Hoo!


As a writer, who wears many hats, just like you, I see a parallel of these kinds of roads to the seasons of life.  Some days you’re on a fly over several stories high above the realities of life, yours and others.  Other days you cruise along with enough length and breadth to pilot the details of your life. You might even manage to help other people along the way.  Then there’s the hard days with very little energy or ability to handle the minutes, much like a small ramp onto a highway, with very little leeway and very little space to move forward.


Interestingly enough, I’m in the same car in all of these conditions.  It’s the same me that drives the roads and ramps.  The differences are the circumstances and vantage point of my spirit, soul, and body.  That’s a bunch of stuff to balance in this path of life.  My best posture to meet today and the days ahead is one of positivity and faith that my Great Big God has me in His Hands.


He’s actually the One in charge of The Road.


MT Penny

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page